School of Biological Sciences

People

Graduate Students

Sarah Anderson


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. R. Dave Evans
Email:sarah.anderson2@email.wsu.edu
Webpage:http://igert.nspire.wsu.edu/node/13


Research: The patterns, effects, and policy implications of atmospheric deposition of nitrogen to natural ecosystems.

Clayton Bailes

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Elissa Schwartz
Email: clayon.bailes@wsu.edu
Research: Studying host-pathogen interactions and mechanisms using bacteriophage.

Sierra Beecher

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch

Research: Studying the physics and physiology of the phloem sieve tube system using confocal laser scanning microscopy and molecular biology in the laboratory of Dr. Michael Knoblauch.

Kristy Bellinger

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Patrick Carter
Email: klbellin@gmail.com

Research: Examining the effects of domestication and temperature on sprint swimming performance among clonal rainbow trout lines.  


Richard Berl

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Richard Gomulkiewicz (School of Biological Sciences) and Dr. Luke Premo (Department of Anthropology)
Email: richard.berl@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://www.cultevol.org/

Research: Evolutionary origins and development of sociality, social learning, and social and cultural traits in human and non-human animal species.

Jordan Boersma

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: jordan.boersma@gmail.com

Research: .

Conor Bollinger Smith

Degree:
 M.S. - Biology
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: 

Research: .

Ryan Boyd

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: ryan.boyd@email.wsu.edu
Webpage: http://web.me.com/abcousins/
Cousins_Lab/People.html


Research: Plants, climate change, and photosynthesis; currently, the differences in Rubisco kinetic parameters between C3 and C4 grasses.

Joshua Brindley

Degree:
 M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Larry Hufford
Email: joshua.brindley@wsu.edu

Research: .

Anthony Brown

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Joanna Kelley
Email: anthony.p.brown@wsu.edu

Research: Genetic basis of adaptation to extreme environments, specifically in fish (Poecillia​) adapted to environments with high hydrogen sulfide concentrations.

Benjamin Burrows


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Andrew McCubbin
Email: benjamin.burrows100@email.wsu.edu


Research: Investigating heteromorphic self-incompatibility in Primula.

Amanda Carter

Degree:
M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: amanda.carter@email.wsu.edu

Research: Understanding the physiological significance of ureide transport processes in soybean (Glycine Max).

Christina Choi

Degree:
Ph.D. - Biology
Advisor: Dr. Hanjo Hellman
Email: christina.choi@email.wsu.edu

Research: Exploring the functional impacts of CUL4-based E3 ligases on plant development and abiotic stress response.
Adam Damon

Degree:
M.S. - Zoology
Advisor:Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: adam.damon@email.wsu.edu


Research: Coming soon
Charles Dean

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Ray Lee
Email: charles.dean@wsu.edu

Research: .
Derek Denney

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Larry Hufford
Email: derek.denney@wsu.edu

Research: .
Christopher Duke

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Patrick Carter
Email: christopher.duke@wsu.edu

Research: .
Marietta Easterling

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email:


Research: 
Sarah Emel

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: emel@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://public.wsu.edu/~storfer/
people.htm

Research: Integrating landscape genetics with niche modeling to predict the effects of climate change on future distributions of salamanders (genus Rhyacotriton). 
Jonathan Finger

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email: jfinger@wsu.edu

Research: The dynamics of phenotypic plasticity during range expansion and invasion.
Matt Garneau

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisors: Drs. Mechthild Tegeder and Andrew McCubbin
Email: mgarneau@wsu.edu

Research: The physiological roles of amino acid transporters during plant reproduction.
Jamie Gehring

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charles Robbins
Email: Jamie.gehring@email.wsu.edu

Research: Seasonal variation in leptin and adiponectin production and adipose function in brown bears.
Emily Hall

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: emily.m.hall@email.wsu.edu

Research: Amphibian decline, specifically the neuroendocrine stress axis and how hormone levels alter development in response to environmental cues.
Karin Harrington

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Elissa Schwartz
Email: karin.harrington@wsu.edu

Research: Analysis of systems of host-viral escape, evolution, and control using both mathematical and laboratory methods.
Lindsay Hilldorfer

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Brian Kemp
Email: lindsay.hilldorfer@wsu.edu


Research: Evolution of humans through     their faunal neighbors, such as         gastrointestinal microbes and                domesticated animals.

Kathryn Holden

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Jeb Owen
Email: kathryn_holden@wsu.edu

Research: Host immune response to mosquito saliva and its role in West Nile transmission.
Marcus Hooker

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Larry Hufford
Email: marcus.hooker@email.wsu.edu

Research: Phylogenetics of Eremogone (Caryophyllaceae) with specific interest in the phylogeography and subspecies delimitation within the Eremogone congesta complex.
Tatton Hymas

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Eric Roalson
Email: tatton.hymas@email.wsu.edu

Research: Phylogenetic and phytogeographical study of neotropical Epiphytic plants and their association with phorophytes.
Christina Jenkins

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email: cej.jenkins@gmail.com

Research: Theoretical and empirical study of the genetics of host/parasite coevolution in P. antipodarum/Microphallus

Bobbi Johnson

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Gary Thorgaard and Dr. Brian Kemp 
Email: bobbi.adams@wsu.edu

Research:Examination of Columbia River salmonids using comparisons of contemporary and ancient DNA.
Therese Jones

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Elissa Schwartz
Email:  therese.jones14@gmail.com

Research:  Bacteriaphage that infect e. coli and samonella and am interested in the phage's intergenic region which may contain a reduction sequence that could inhibit the phage's ability to replicate.
Allison Kolbe

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: Allison.kolbe@email.wsu.edu

Research: The role of carbonic anhydrase for C4 photosynthesis in maize.
Nicole Krauss

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: nicole.krauss@email.wsu.edu

Research: focusing on the role of androgens in breeding females.
Kimberly Lackey

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Michelle McGuire
Email:  lackey.kimberly@gmail.com

Research:  Human milk microbiome with a specific focus on Mycobacterium leprae and methods development in milk collection and preservation.
Nathan Layman

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Jeremiah Busch
Email: nathan.layman@wsu.edu

Research: Studying evolution and diversification using the s-locus self compatibility complex in Brassicaceae.
Thiel Lehman

Degree:
M.S. - Botany
Advisors: Drs. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: thiel.lehman@email.wsu.edu

Research: Characterize six intercellular amino acid transporters localized to the chloroplast membrane.
Yan Liu

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch
Email: yan.liu4@wsu.edu

Research: .

Jennifer Madrid-Thorson


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email:j.madridthorson@email.wsu.edu


Research: Understanding the role of phenotypic plasticity, ecology and evolution in species invasions. 
Sarah Meiners

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Jesse Brunner
Email: sarah.meiners@email.wsu.edu

Research: Disease ecology and host range evolution of Ranavirus.
Steven Micheletti

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: steven.micheletti@wsu.edu
Webpage:http://public.wsu.edu/~storfer/
people.htm

Research: Reptile and amphibian population genetics and landscape genetics.
Austin Patton

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: austin.patton@wsu.edu

Research: .
Molly Perchlik

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: molly.perchlik@email.wsu.edu

Research: Determining the roles of amino acid transporters in nitrogen uptake and use efficiency of plants
Justin Poinsatte

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany 
Advisor: Dr. R. Dave Evans

Research: The effects of increased nitrogen deposition on nutrient cycling and biological activity in the Cascades, using experimental studies and modeling.
Joshua Premo

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Cavagnetto
Email: joshua.premo@wsu.edu

Research: .
Kimberly Rigano

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charles Robbins
Email: Kimberly.rigano@email.wsu.edu

Research: My research aims to understand the seasonal variation in insulin sensitivity of adipose tissue in brown (Grizzly) bears.
James Riser

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Eric Roalson
Email: jriserii@wsu.edu

Research: Plant population genetics, phylogenetics, and phylogeography, using rare species of Asclepias from the southwestern U.S.
Jeffrey Ritter

Degree:
  Ph.D. - Botany 
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: Jeff.Ritter@email.wsu.edu

Research: Examining plant-atmosphere interactions and how these relate to physiology and evolution.
Danielle Rivet

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charlie Robbins
Email: danielle.rivet@email.wsu.edu

Research: Effects of diet on cardiac function of active and hibernating grizzly bears.
Wade Roberts

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Eric Roalson
Email: wade.roberts@email.wsu.edu

Research: Developmental genetics of flower diversification in Achimenes (Gesneriaceae)​.
Bryan Roosien

Degree:
Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor:Richard Gomulkiewicz
Email: broosien@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://ipem.anth.wsu.edu/node/210 (IPEM) and http://public.wsu.edu/~broosien/
index.html

Research: Using mathematical models to investigate vector behavior and the evolution and epidemiology of vector-transmitted plant diseases.
Tim Ross-Elliott

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch
Email: timothy.rosselliott@email.wsu.edu

Research: Virus interactions in the phloem.
James Santiago

Degree:
  Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences 
Advisor: Dr. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: james.santiago@wsu.edu

Research: Dissecting the role of AAP8 amino acid transporter in leaf phloem loading and the effect of altered amino acid partitioning on source-sink physiology.
Michael Saxton

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charles Robbins
Email: michael.saxton@wsu.edu

Research: 

Physiological adaptations to hibernation in brown bears (Ursus arctos), particularly focusing on the maintenance of muscle and bone density despite prolonged inactivity.

Travis Seaborn

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: travis.seaborn@wsu.edu

Research: Physiology patterns across species' ranges analyzed in conjunction with ecological niche models. Specific goals are aimed towards conservation problems..
Erika Serrano Romero

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: erika.serranoromero@wsu.edu

Research: .
Thomas Sexton

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins,
Email: thomas.sexton@wsu.edu

Research: Examining photosynthetic differences. Aim is to characterize and develop ways to look at these differences through remote sensing technology.
Rick Sharpe

Degree:
  Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences  
Advisor: Dr. Gerald Edwards

Research: Generating and analyzing transcriptomes relating to photosynthetic mechanisms of four related Suaedoideae subfamily species that exhibit C3, Krantz C4 and single cell C4 photosynthesis.
Lane Smith

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer,
Email: lane.smith@wsu.edu

Research: 

Studying immunogenetics of Tasmanian devils and their facial tumor disease.

Mark Smithson

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl,
Email: mark.smithson@wsu.edu

Research: .
Kyle Taylor

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Joanna Kelley,
Email: kyle.taylor@email.wsu.edu

Research: .
Daryl Trumbo

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology 
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: dtrumbo@wsu.edu
Webpage:  http://public.wsu.edu/~storfer/
people.htm

Research: Studying the invasion of the cane toad (Bufo marinus) in Australia, using a landscape genetics framework.
Margaret Unkefer

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: maggie.unkefer@wsu.edu

Research:  Using amphibian model systems develop understanding how conditions experienced during early life can affect adult immune function and disease susceptibility
Fernando Villanea

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology  
Advisor: Dr. Brian Kemp
Email: fervillanea@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://public.wsu.edu/~bmkemp/
labmembers.html

Research: The structure, ecology, and evolution of mammal populations based on ancient and modern DNA analysis.
Brittney Wager

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch
Email: brittney.wager@wsu.edu

Research: Researching ​the phytoremediation of radioactive strontium present in contaminated soils.  Looking to improve the uptake of strontium by adding active strontium transporters to plant roots. This project is in collaboration with Pacific Northwest National Laboratory and will involve the use of a dynamic transmission electron microscope.
Sarah Wanamaker

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: sarah.wanamaker@email.wsu.edu

Research: The interaction between hormones and behavior.
Alex Webb

Degree:
 M.S. - Biology
Advisor: Dr. Jesse Brunner
Email: alexwilliam1224@gmail.com

Research:
Benjamin Wiedeback

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Drs. Patrick Carter and Richard Gomulkiewicz
Email:

Research:  Modeling the interaction of genetics and physiology as it relates to the adaptation and evolution of organisms in response to their environment.

WSU Tri-Cities

Casey Carter

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. James Cooper,
Email: casey.carter@email.wsu.edu

Research: .
Holly Milewski

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. James Cooper,
Email: holly.milewski@email.wsu.edu

Research: .

WSU Vancouver

Nathaniel Frein

Degree:
 M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. John Bishop
Email: nathaniel.j.frein@gmail.com

Research: Examining the exudation of low molecular weight organic acids in relation to phosphorus uptake and mobilization by Lupinus lepidus at Mount St. Helens.
Elizabeth Hooshiar

Degree:
M.S.
Advisor:
Email:

Research:


Matthew Kruger

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Allison Coffin
Email: matthew.wayne.kruger@gmail.com

Research: Screening compounds for potential protectants against aminoglycoside-induced sensory hair cell damage in Zebrafish.
Matt Lambert

Degree:

Advisor:
Email:

Research:
Elena Mahrt

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Christine Portfors
Email: Elena.mahrt@email.wsu.edu

Research: Using a neuroethological approach to understand complex sound processing in mammalian models (specifically mice and bats).


Jennifer Martin

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Christine Portfors and Dr. Alexander Dimitrov
Email: jenni.martin@email.wsu.edu

Research: Examining the neurological encoding of the temporal pattern of mouse social vocalizations.
Mailea Miller-Pierce

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology 
Advisor: Dr. John Bishop
Email: m.miller-pierce@email.wsu.edu

Research: The impact of anthropogenic nitrogen deposition on ecological communities and ecosystem processes.
James Moore

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: ,
Email: ssjames24@yahoo.com

Research: .


Kersten Peterson

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Cynthia Cooper
Email: kersten.peterson@email.wsu.edu

Research: Developmental biology and genetics of pigmentation in Zebrafish.
Janel Skreen

Degree:

Advisor:
Email:

Research:
Joseph Smokey

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Cheryl Schultz,
Email: joey_smokey@wsu.edu

Research: Working with the endangered Fender's Blue butterfly combining field work with spatially-explicit agent based models to help explore and answer restoration questions and influence landscape management decisions in the butterfly's heavily-degraded prairie habitat..
Cameron Thomas

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: ,
Email: 

Research: .
Anthony Wenke

Degree:
M.S. - Zoology
Advisor:  Dr. John Bishop
Email:  anthony.wenke@email.wsu.edu

Research:  Vegetation development and the role of plant functional traits in primary successional sites on Mount St. Helens.
Thomas Whitney

Degree:
 
Advisor: ,
Email: 

Research: .

WSU Recent Grads

Travis Almquist

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Richard Mack

Currently an assistant professor at Benedictine College, Atchison Kansas.
Lauren Kelly

Degree:
M.S. Botany
Advisor: Dr. Richard Mack

Currently a grad student in the Department of English at Washington State University.
Dan Mullendore

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch

Currently working as a postdoctoral research in the Knoblauch lab, WSU.
Kirt Onthank

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Raymond Lee

Currently an assistant professor at Walla Walla University, Walla Walla Washington
Angela Pawlak

Degree:
M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Richard Mack

Currently serving as a mentor of Teacher Education at Western Governors University.
Berkley Walker

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins

Currently a postdoctoral researcher with the USDA under Don Ort at the University of Illinois

The Biology Graduate Student Association at Washington State University serves to enhance the community among graduate students, participate in and contribute to the department, and give back to the local community of the Palouse. For more information please contact Christina Choi, President.
School of Biological Sciences, Washington State University, PO Box 644236, Pullman WA 99164-4236, 509-335-3553, Contact Us
The SBS main office is located in 312 Abelson Hall on the Pullman campus.