School of Biological Sciences

People

Graduate Students

Sarah Anderson


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. R. Dave Evans
Email:sarah.anderson2@wsu.edu


Research: The patterns, effects, and policy implications of atmospheric deposition of nitrogen to natural ecosystems.
Clayton Bailes

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Elissa Schwartz
Email: clayton.bailes@wsu.edu
Research: Studying host-pathogen interactions and mechanisms using bacteriophage.
Chase Beathard

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Hanjo Hellman
Email: chase.beathard@wsu.edu
Research:Investigating R2R3 MYB transcription factors and BPM substrate adaptors to find their functional and developmental impacts in Arabidopsis thaliana and Brassica rapa.
Sierra Beecher

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch

Research: Studying the physics and physiology of the phloem sieve tube system using confocal laser scanning microscopy and molecular biology in the laboratory of Dr. Michael Knoblauch.
Kristy Bellinger

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Patrick Carter
Email: klbellin@gmail.com

Research: Examining the effects of domestication and temperature on sprint swimming performance among clonal rainbow trout lines.  
Jordan Boersma

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: jordan.boersma@gmail.com

Research: Mind-bending science, of the zoological variety.
Joshua Brindley

Degree:
 M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Larry Hufford
Email: joshua.brindley@wsu.edu

Research: Plant Taxonomy and biogeography.
Anthony Brown

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Joanna Kelley
Email: anthony.p.brown@wsu.edu

Research: Genetic basis of adaptation to extreme environments, specifically in fish (Poecilia) adapted to environments with high hydrogen sulfide concentrations.
Benjamin Burrows


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Andrew McCubbin
Email: benjamin.burrows100@wsu.edu


Research: Investigating heteromorphic self-incompatibility in Primula.
Joseph W. Cauceglia

Degree:
Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Michael K. Skinner
Email: Joseph.Cauceglia@wsu.edu

Research: Investigating modes and mechanisms of transgenerational epigenetics.
Christina Choi

Degree:
Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Hanjo Hellmann
Email: christina.choi@wsu.edu

Research: Exploring the functional impacts of CUL4-based E3 ligases on plant development and abiotic stress response.
Joe Crawford

Degree:
Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: joseph.crawford@wsu.edu

Research: C4 photosynthesis mechanism.
Adam Damon

Degree:
M.S. - Zoology
Advisor:Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: adam.damon@wsu.edu


Research: Metabolic and physiological consequences of yolk androgens during early development in House Sparrows (Passer domesticus).
Derek Denney

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Larry Hufford
Email: derek.denney@wsu.edu

Research: Researching the phylogenetics and biogeography of plants.
Christopher Duke

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Patrick Carter
Email: christopher.duke@wsu.edu

Research: .
Marietta Easterling

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email:


Research: 
Kari Ferolito

Degree:
M.S. - Biology
Advisor:Dr. Elissa Schwartz
Email: kari.ferolito@wsu.edu

Research: Infectious Disease Dynamics, specifically viral escape. We are using the bacteriophage phiX174 to study how viruses are able to escape defense mechanisms by mutations or by other means.
Alexandra Fraik

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Biology
Advisor: Dr. Joanna Kelley and Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: alexandra.fraik@wsu.edu

Research: Investigating the genomic basis of adaptation in response to strong selective forces such as disease.
Jonathan Finger

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email: jfinger@wsu.edu

Research: The dynamics of phenotypic plasticity during range expansion and invasion.
Amanda Garbers

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Henning Kunz
Email: amanda.garbers@wsu.edu

Research: Studying ion transport in the chloroplast using Arabidopsis thaliana as well as cloning amiRNA library for the chloroplast.
Matt Garneau

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisors: Drs. Mechthild Tegeder and Andrew McCubbin
Email: mgarneau@wsu.edu

Research: The physiological roles of amino acid transporters during plant reproduction.
Jamie Gehring

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charles Robbins
Email: Jamie.gehring@wsu.edu

Research: Seasonal variation in leptin and adiponectin production and adipose function in brown bears.
Emily Hall

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: emily.m.hall@wsu.edu

Research: Amphibian decline, specifically the neuroendocrine stress axis and how hormone levels alter development in response to environmental cues.
Karin Harrington

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Elissa Schwartz
Email: karin.harrington@wsu.edu

Research: Analysis of systems of host-viral escape, evolution, and control using both mathematical and laboratory methods.
Lindsay Hilldorfer

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Brian Kemp
Email: lindsay.hilldorfer@wsu.edu


Research: Evolution of humans through     their faunal neighbors, such as         gastrointestinal microbes and                domesticated animals.

Marcus Hooker

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Larry Hufford
Email: marcus.hooker@wsu.edu

Research: Phylogenetics of Eremogone (Caryophyllaceae) with specific interest in the phylogeography and subspecies delimitation within the Eremogone congesta complex.
Christina Jenkins

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email: cej.jenkins@gmail.com

Research: Theoretical and empirical study of the genetics of host/parasite coevolution in P. antipodarum/Microphallus

Bobbi Johnson

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Gary Thorgaard and Dr. Brian Kemp 
Email: bobbi.johnson@wsu.edu

Research: Examination of Columbia River salmonids using comparisons of contemporary and ancient DNA.
Allison Kolbe

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: Allison.kolbe@wsu.edu

Research: The role of carbonic anhydrase for C4 photosynthesis in maize.
Nicole Krauss

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: nicole.krauss@wsu.edu

Research: focusing on the role of androgens in breeding females.
Kimberly Lackey

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Michelle McGuire
Email:  lackey.kimberly@gmail.com

Research:  Human milk microbiome with a specific focus on Mycobacterium leprae and methods development in milk collection and preservation.
Nathan Layman

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Jeremiah Busch
Email: nathan.layman@wsu.edu

Research: Studying evolution and diversification using the s-locus self compatibility complex in Brassicaceae.
Yan Liu

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch
Email: yan.liu4@wsu.edu

Research: Researching on a kind of phloem protein, forisome, in Dr. Knoblauch's lab. Understanding the protein structure and mechanism could help us design forisome based smart materials.

Jennifer Madrid-Thorson


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email:j.madridthorson@wsu.edu


Research: Understanding the role of phenotypic plasticity, ecology and evolution in species invasions. 
Sarah Meiners

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Jesse Brunner
Email: sarah.meiners@wsu.edu

Research: Disease ecology and host range evolution of Ranavirus.
Steven Micheletti

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: steven.micheletti@wsu.edu
Webpage:http://public.wsu.edu/~storfer/
people.htm

Research: Reptile and amphibian population genetics and landscape genetics.
Austin Patton

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: austin.patton@wsu.edu

Research: .
Molly Perchlik

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: molly.perchlik@wsu.edu

Research: Determining the roles of amino acid transporters in nitrogen uptake and use efficiency of plants
Justin Poinsatte

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany 
Advisor: Dr. R. Dave Evans

Research: The effects of increased nitrogen deposition on nutrient cycling and biological activity in the Cascades, using experimental studies and modeling.
Joshua Premo

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Cavagnetto
Email: joshua.premo@wsu.edu

Research:  The application of evolutionary theory to educational research and practice in the area of classroom cooperation.
Carly Prior

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Jeremiah Busch
Email: carly.prior@wsu.edu

Research:  
Kimberly Rigano

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charles Robbins
Email: Kimberly.rigano@wsu.edu

Research: My research aims to understand the seasonal variation in insulin sensitivity of adipose tissue in brown (Grizzly) bears.
Jeffrey Ritter

Degree:
  Ph.D. - Botany 
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: Jeff.Ritter@wsu.edu

Research: Examining plant-atmosphere interactions and how these relate to physiology and evolution.
Wade Roberts

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Eric Roalson
Email: wade.roberts@wsu.edu

Research: Developmental genetics of flower diversification in Achimenes (Gesneriaceae)​.
Tim Ross-Elliott

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch
Email: timothy.rosselliott@wsu.edu

Research: Virus interactions in the phloem.
James Santiago

Degree:
  Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences 
Advisor: Dr. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: james.santiago@wsu.edu

Research: Dissecting the role of AAP8 amino acid transporter in leaf phloem loading and the effect of altered amino acid partitioning on source-sink physiology.
Michael Saxton

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charles Robbins
Email: michael.saxton@wsu.edu

Research: 

Physiological adaptations to hibernation in brown bears (Ursus arctos), particularly focusing on the maintenance of muscle and bone density despite prolonged inactivity.

Travis Seaborn

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: travis.seaborn@wsu.edu

Research: Interaction of natural and anthropogenic stressors and their consequences in regards to conservation, using an interdisciplinary framework of modeling, genetics, ecology, and physiology.
Erika Serrano Romero

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: erika.serranoromero@wsu.edu

Research: .
Thomas Sexton

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins,
Email: thomas.sexton@wsu.edu

Research: Examining photosynthetic differences. Aim is to characterize and develop ways to look at these differences through remote sensing technology.
Lane Smith

Degree:
M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer,
Email: lane.smith@wsu.edu

Research: 

Telomere dynamics of Tasmanian devils and their facial tumor disease.

Mark Smithson

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl,
Email: mark.smithson@wsu.edu

Research: Studying the evolution and mechanisms of phenotypic plasticity in the invasive new zealand mud snail.
Kyle Taylor

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Joanna Kelley,
Email: kyle.j.taylor@wsu.edu

Research: Investigating adaptation to sulfidic environments in Poecillia species via genomics and epigenetics.
Daryl Trumbo

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology 
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: dtrumbo@wsu.edu
Webpage:  http://public.wsu.edu/~storfer/
people.htm

Research: Studying the invasion of the cane toad (Bufo marinus) in Australia, using a landscape genetics framework.
Fernando Villanea

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology  
Advisor: Dr. Brian Kemp
Email: fervillanea@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://public.wsu.edu/~bmkemp/
labmembers.html

Research: The structure, ecology, and evolution of mammal populations based on ancient and modern DNA analysis.
Brittney Wager

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch
Email: brittney.wager@wsu.edu

Research: Brittney is working in Dr. Michael Knoblauch's lab where she is researching the phytoremediation of radioactive strontium. Using plants to clean up contaminated soil and water is more environmentally friendly and cost effective than traditional physical and chemical methods. Her approach to this project includes the use of microscopy and molecular techniques.
Sarah Wanamaker

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: sarah.wanamaker@wsu.edu

Research: The interaction between hormones and behavior.
Benjamin Wiedeback

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Drs. Patrick Carter and Richard Gomulkiewicz
Email:

Research:  Modeling the interaction of genetics and physiology as it relates to the adaptation and evolution of organisms in response to their environment.

Casey Carter

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. James Cooper,
Email: casey.carter@wsu.edu

Research: .
Holly Milewski

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. James Cooper,
Email: holly.milewski@wsu.edu

Research: .


Matthew Kruger

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Allison Coffin
Email: matthew.wayne.kruger@gmail.com

Research: Screening compounds for potential protectants against aminoglycoside-induced sensory hair cell damage in Zebrafish.
Elena Mahrt

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Christine Portfors
Email: Elena.mahrt@wsu.edu

Research: Using a neuroethological approach to understand complex sound processing in mammalian models (specifically mice and bats).
Mailea Miller-Pierce

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology 
Advisor: Dr. John Bishop
Email: m.miller-pierce@wsu.edu

Research: The impact of anthropogenic nitrogen deposition on ecological communities and ecosystem processes.


Kersten Peterson

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Cynthia Cooper
Email: kersten.peterson@wsu.edu

Research: Developmental biology and genetics of pigmentation in Zebrafish.
Joseph Smokey

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Cheryl Schultz,
Email: joey_smokey@wsu.edu

Research: Working with the endangered Fender's Blue butterfly combining field work with spatially-explicit agent based models to help explore and answer restoration questions and influence landscape management decisions in the butterfly's heavily-degraded prairie habitat..
Cameron Thomas

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Cheryl Schultz,
Email: cameron.thomas@wsu.edu

Research: Metapopulation dynamics and ecological interactions of target species in the Pacific Northwest, specifically related to threatened and endangered butterflies.
Anthony Wenke

Degree:
M.S. - Zoology
Advisor:  Dr. John Bishop
Email:  anthony.wenke@wsu.edu

Research:  Vegetation development and the role of plant functional traits in primary successional sites on Mount St. Helens.

The Biology Graduate Student Association at Washington State University serves to enhance the community among graduate students, participate in and contribute to the department, and give back to the local community of the Palouse. For more information please contact Sarah Meiners, President.
School of Biological Sciences, Washington State University, PO Box 644236, Pullman WA 99164-4236, 509-335-3553, Contact Us
The SBS main office is located in 312 Abelson Hall on the Pullman campus.