School of Biological Sciences

People

Graduate Students


Bobbi Adams

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Gary Thorgaard and Dr. Brian Kemp 
Email: bobbi.adams@wsu.edu

Research:Examination of Columbia River salmonids using comparisons of contemporary and ancient DNA.

Sarah Anderson


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. R. Dave Evans
Email:sarah.anderson2@email.wsu.edu
Webpage:http://igert.nspire.wsu.edu/node/13


Research: The patterns, effects, and policy implications of atmospheric deposition of nitrogen to natural ecosystems.

Douglas Barron

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: dbarron5@wsu.edu

Research: The causes and consequences of phenotypic plasticity in male Red-backed Fairy-wrens.

Chase Beathard

Degree:
 Ph.D. -Botany
Advisor: Dr. Hanjo Hellmann

Research: Ubiquitin-proteasome pathway.

Sierra Beecher

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch

Research: Coming soon.

Kristy Bellinger

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Patrick Carter
Email: klbellin@gmail.com

Research: Examining the effects of domestication and temperature on sprint swimming performance among clonal rainbow trout lines.  


Richard Berl

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Richard Gomulkiewicz (School of Biological Sciences) and Dr. Luke Premo (Department of Anthropology)
Email: richard.berl@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://www.cultevol.org/

Research: I study the evolutionary origins and development of cultural traits in non-human animal species through behavioral observation, genetic analysis, and statistical modeling.

John Bills

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Eric Roalson
Email: john.bills@wsu.edu

Research: Plant systematics.

Ryan Boyd

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: ryan.boyd@email.wsu.edu
Webpage: http://web.me.com/abcousins/
Cousins_Lab/People.html


Research: Plants, climate change, and photosynthesis; currently, the differences in Rubisco kinetic parameters between C3 and C4 grasses.

Benjamin Burrows


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Andrew McCubbin
Email: benjamin.burrows100@email.wsu.edu


Research: Investigating heteromorphic self-incompatibility in Primula.

Amanda Carter

Degree:
M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: amanda.carter@email.wsu.edu

Research: Understanding the physiological significance of ureide transport processes in soybean (Glycine Max).

Christina Choi

Degree:
Ph.D. - Biology
Advisor: Dr. Hanjo Hellman
Email: christina.choi@email.wsu.edu

Research: Exploring the functional impacts of CUL4-based E3 ligases on plant development and abiotic stress response.

Brian Connolly

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Richard Mack
Email: brian_connolly@wsu.edu

Research: Brian's research focuses on the biotic resistance hypothesis by measuring the extent to which predation, parasitism, and competition determine the current status of invaders in Pacific Northwest steppe and forests.

Adam Damon

Degree:
M.S. - Zoology
Advisor:Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: adam.damon@email.wsu.edu


Research: Coming soon

Andrea Dixon

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Jeremiah Busch
Email: andrea_dixon@wsu.edu

Research: Species range limits, specifically factors determining expansion and their effects on speciation (genus Mimulus).

Marietta Easterling

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email:


Research: 

Sarah Emel

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: emel@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://public.wsu.edu/~storfer/
people.htm

Research: Integrating landscape genetics with niche modeling to predict the effects of climate change on future distributions of salamanders (genus Rhyacotriton). 

Kristin Engbrecht

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: kristin.engbrecht@email.wsu.edu

Research: Studying how the interactions between the hormone, leptin, and the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis effect limb regeneration in amphibians.

Scott Farnsworth

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Jesse Brunner
Email: scottfarnsworth@email.wsu.edu

Research: Disease ecology and conservation implications of Ranaviruses in reptiles and amphibians..

Jonathan Finger

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email: jfinger@wsu.edu

Research: The dynamics of phenotypic plasticity during range expansion and invasion.

Daniel Froelich

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch
Email: dfroelich@gmail.com

Research: Phloem anatomy and ultrastructure, specifically phloem transport mechanics and potential industrial applications in microfluidics. 

Matt Garneau

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisors: Drs. Mechthild Tegeder and Andrew McCubbin
Email: mgarneau@wsu.edu

Research: The physiological roles of amino acid transporters during plant reproduction.

Jamie Gehring

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charles Robbins
Email: Jamie.gehring@email.wsu.edu

Research: Seasonal variation in leptin and adiponectin production and adipose function in brown bears.

Joseph Grissom

Degree:
 M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Larry Hufford

Research: Geographic plant distribution and population structuring of canyon species.

Emily Hall

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: emily.m.hall@email.wsu.edu

Research: Amphibian decline, specifically the neuroendocrine stress axis and how hormone levels alter development in response to environmental cues.

Karin Harrington

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Elissa Schwartz
Email: karin.harrington@wsu.edu

Research: Analysis of systems of host-viral escape, evolution, and control using both mathematical and laboratory methods.
Lindsay Hilldorfer

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Brian Kemp
Email: lindsay.hilldorfer@wsu.edu


Research: Evolution of humans through     their faunal neighbors, such as         gastrointestinal microbes and                domesticated animals.


Kathryn Holden

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Jeb Owen
Email: kathryn_holden@wsu.edu

Research: Host immune response to mosquito saliva and its role in West Nile transmission.

Marcus Hooker

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Larry Hufford
Email: marcus.hooker@email.wsu.edu

Research: Phylogenetics of Eremogone (Caryophyllaceae) with specific interest in the phylogeography and subspecies delimitation within the Eremogone congesta complex.

Tatton Hymas

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Eric Roalson
Email: tatton.hymas@email.wsu.edu

Research: Phylogenetic and phytogeographical study of neotropical Epiphytic plants and their association with phorophytes.


Kristen Irwin

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Patrick Carter
Email: k-irwin@wsu.edu

Research: Predicting and testing the evolution of function-valued traits, using as a model organism the flour beetle Tribolium castaneum.


Christina Jenkins

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email: cej.jenkins@gmail.com

Research: Theoretical and empirical study of the genetics of host/parasite coevolution in P. antipodarum/Microphallus
Therese Jones

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Elissa Schwartz
Email:  therese.jones14@gmail.com

Research:  Bacteriaphage that infect e. coli and samonella and am interested in the phage's intergenic region which may contain a reduction sequence that could inhibit the phage's ability to replicate.
Allison Kolbe

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: Allison.kolbe@email.wsu.edu

Research: The role of carbonic anhydrase for C4 photosynthesis in maize.

Nicole Krauss

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: nicole.krauss@email.wsu.edu

Research: focusing on the role of androgens in breeding females.

Aurelia Kucera

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: akucera@wsu.edu

Research: Examining the interaction between stress and maternal care behavior in salamanders.
Kimberly Lackey

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Michelle McGuire
Email:  lackey.kimberly@gmail.com

Research:  Human milk microbiome with a specific focus on Mycobacterium leprae and methods development in milk collection and preservation.

Nathan Layman

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Jeremiah Busch
Email: nathan.layman@wsu.edu

Research: Studying evolution and diversification using the s-locus self compatibility complex in Brassicaceae.

Joo Hyun Lee

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Hanjo Hellmann
Email: joo.lee@email.wsu.edu

Research: The functional impact of CUL3-based E3 ligase in plant development and stress tolerance.
Thiel Lehman

Degree:
M.S. - Botany
Advisors: Drs. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: thiel.lehman@email.wsu.edu

Research: Characterize six intercellular amino acid transporters localized to the chloroplast membrane.


Jennifer Madrid-Thorson


Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Mark Dybdahl
Email:j.madridthorson@email.wsu.edu


Research: Understanding the role of phenotypic plasticity, ecology and evolution in species invasions. 
Sarah Meiners

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Jesse Brunner
Email: sarah.meiners@email.wsu.edu

Research: Disease ecology and host range evolution of Ranavirus.


Steven Micheletti

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: steven.micheletti@wsu.edu
Webpage:http://public.wsu.edu/~storfer/
people.htm

Research: Reptile and amphibian population genetics and landscape genetics.

Janae Mosely

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Shelley McGuire
Email: janae.mosely@email.wsu.edu

Research: Studying the human microbiome in lactating mothers and infants.

Nicholas Norton


Degree:
M.S. - Botany      

Advisor: Dr. Jeremiah Busch
Email:

nicholas.norton@email.wsu.edu


Research:  Investigating the role of character displacement on floral trait evolution in Leavenworthia stylosa


Molly Perchlik

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: molly.perchlik@email.wsu.edu

Research: Determining the roles of amino acid transporters in nitrogen uptake and use efficiency of plants

Justin Poinsatte

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany 
Advisor: Dr. R. Dave Evans

Research: The effects of increased nitrogen deposition on nutrient cycling and biological activity in the Cascades, using experimental studies and modeling.

Michael Porzio

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: michael.porzio@wsu.edu

Research: How the quality of the early life environment of an individual affects their adult fitness in terms of immune function in wood frogs (Rana sylvatica).
Kimberly Rigano

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charles Robbins
Email: Kimberly.rigano@email.wsu.edu

Research: My research aims to understand the seasonal variation in insulin sensitivity of adipose tissue in brown (Grizzly) bears.

James Riser

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Eric Roalson
Email: jriserii@wsu.edu

Research: Plant population genetics, phylogenetics, and phylogeography, using rare species of Asclepias from the southwestern U.S.

Jeffrey Ritter

Degree:
  Ph.D. - Botany 
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins
Email: Jeff.Ritter@email.wsu.edu

Research: Examining plant-atmosphere interactions and how these relate to physiology and evolution.

Danielle Rivet

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Charlie Robbins
Email: danielle.rivet@email.wsu.edu

Research: Effects of diet on cardiac function of active and hibernating grizzly bears.

Wade Roberts

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Eric Roalson
Email: wade.roberts@email.wsu.edu

Research: Investigating the evolutionary and developmental genetics of petal-spur development and the shifts in flower color between species of Achimenes (Gesneriaceae).

Bryan Roosien

Degree:
Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor:Richard Gomulkiewicz
Email: broosien@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://ipem.anth.wsu.edu/node/210 (IPEM) and http://public.wsu.edu/~broosien/
index.html

Research: Using mathematical models to investigate vector behavior and the evolution and epidemiology of vector-transmitted plant diseases.

Joshua Rosnow

Degree:
Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor:Dr. Eric Roalson
Email:jrosnow@wsu.edu

Research: Molecular mechanisms involved in C4 photosynthesis.

Tim Ross-Elliott

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch
Email: timothy.rosselliott@email.wsu.edu

Research: Virus interactions in the phloem.

James Santiago

Degree:
  Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences 
Advisor: Dr. Mechthild Tegeder
Email: james.santiago@wsu.edu

Research: Dissecting the role of AAP8 amino acid transporter in leaf phloem loading and the effect of altered amino acid partitioning on source-sink physiology.

Rick Sharpe

Degree:
  Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences  
Advisor: Dr. Gerald Edwards

Research: Generating and analyzing transcriptomes relating to photosynthetic mechanisms of four related Suaedoideae subfamily species that exhibit C3, Krantz C4 and single cell C4 photosynthesis.
Michael Terbush

Degree:
M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Richard Mack
Email: michael.terbush@email.wsu.edu

Research: Evaluation of the genetic variation among populations of invasive cheatgrass (Bromus tectorum).

Daryl Trumbo

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology 
Advisor: Dr. Andrew Storfer
Email: dtrumbo@wsu.edu
Webpage:  http://public.wsu.edu/~storfer/
people.htm

Research: Studying the invasion of the cane toad (Bufo marinus) in Australia, using a landscape genetics framework.
Unkefer, Margaret

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Erica Crespi
Email: maggie.unkefer@wsu.edu

Research:  Using amphibian model systems develop understanding how conditions experienced during early life can affect adult immune function and disease susceptibility

Fernando Villanea

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology  
Advisor: Dr. Brian Kemp
Email: fervillanea@wsu.edu
Webpage: http://public.wsu.edu/~bmkemp/
labmembers.html

Research: The structure, ecology, and evolution of mammal populations based on ancient and modern DNA analysis.

Sarah Wanamaker

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Hubert Schwabl
Email: sarah.wanamaker@email.wsu.edu

Research: The interaction between hormones and behavior.

Alex Webb

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Jesse Brunner
Email: alexwilliam1224@gmail.com

Research:

Benjamin Wiedeback

Degree:
Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Drs. Patrick Carter and Richard Gomulkiewicz
Email:

Research:  Modeling the interaction of genetics and physiology as it relates to the adaptation and evolution of organisms in response to their environment.



WSU Vancouver


Nathaniel Frein

Degree:
 M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. John Bishop
Email: nathaniel.j.frein@gmail.com

Research: Examining the exudation of low molecular weight organic acids in relation to phosphorus uptake and mobilization by Lupinus lepidus at Mount St. Helens.

Elizabeth Hooshiar

Degree:
M.S.
Advisor:
Email:

Research:



Matthew Kruger

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Allison Coffin
Email: matthew.wayne.kruger@gmail.com

Research: Screening compounds for potential protectants against aminoglycoside-induced sensory hair cell damage in Zebrafish.

Matt Lambert

Degree:

Advisor:
Email:

Research:

Elena Mahrt

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Christine Portfors
Email: Elena.mahrt@email.wsu.edu

Research: Using a neuroethological approach to understand complex sound processing in mammalian models (specifically mice and bats).



Jennifer Martin

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Christine Portfors and Dr. Alexander Dimitrov
Email: jenni.martin@email.wsu.edu

Research: Examining the neurological encoding of the temporal pattern of mouse social vocalizations.

Mailea Miller-Pierce

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology 
Advisor: Dr. John Bishop
Email: m.miller-pierce@email.wsu.edu

Research: The impact of anthropogenic nitrogen deposition on ecological communities and ecosystem processes.



Kersten Peterson

Degree:
 M.S. - Zoology
Advisors: Dr. Cynthia Cooper
Email: kersten.peterson@email.wsu.edu

Research: Developmental biology and genetics of pigmentation in Zebrafish.

Janel Skreen

Degree:

Advisor:
Email:

Research:

Anthony Wenke

Degree:
M.S. - Zoology
Advisor:  Dr. John Bishop
Email:  anthony.wenke@email.wsu.edu

Research:  Vegetation development and the role of plant functional traits in primary successional sites on Mount St. Helens.

 

Recent Graduates

Travis Almquist

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Richard Mack

Currently an assistant professor at Benedictine College, Atchison Kansas.

Lauren Kelly

Degree:
M.S. Botany
Advisor: Dr. Richard Mack

Currently a grad student in the Department of English at Washington State University.

Mullendore, Dan

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Michael Knoblauch

Currently working as a postdoctoral research in the Knoblauch lab, WSU.

Kirt Onthank

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Zoology
Advisor: Dr. Raymond Lee

Currently an assistant professor at Walla Walla University, Walla Walla Washington
Pawlak, Angela

Degree:
M.S. - Botany
Advisor: Dr. Richard Mack

Currently serving as a mentor of Teacher Education at Western Governors University.

Berkley Walker

Degree:
 Ph.D. - Molecular Plant Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Asaph Cousins

Currently a postdoctoral researcher with the USDA under Don Ort at the University of Illinois

The Biology Graduate Student Association at Washington State University serves to enhance the community among graduate students, participate in and contribute to the department, and give back to the local community of the Palouse. For more information please contact Richard Berl, President.
School of Biological Sciences, Washington State University, PO Box 644236, Pullman WA 99164-4236, 509-335-3553, Contact Us
The SBS main office is located in 312 Abelson Hall on the Pullman campus.